Poem: Meditations on 1 Corinthians 13: Patience

If I speak in the tongues of mortals and of angels, but do not have love, I am a noisy gong or a clanging cymbal. And if I have prophetic powers, and understand all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have all faith, so as to remove mountains, but do not have love, I am nothing. If I give away all my possessions, and if I hand over my body so that I may boast, but do not have love, I gain nothing.

Love is patient; love is kind; love is not envious or boastful or arrogant or rude. It does not insist on its own way; it is not irritable or resentful; it does not rejoice in wrongdoing, but rejoices in the truth. It bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things. 1 Corinthians 13: 1 – 7

Patience is not compliance – it is not meek, or weak, or mild;

Patience is not always acceptance, but defiance, and tensile steel strong.

Patience gives of itself, but is not a doormat upon which fear can be trodden;

Patience seeks, and probes and prays like a coursing river, foaming and wild.

It aches deep in its bones, in the breath of its soul;

And it weeps when it must though the tears are not told.

Yet it stands, resolute and unbowed, a mountain that does not fall;

And it withstands, undaunted, weathering storms, strong and tall.

Born of deepest love, seeing clearly, its joy carried as choirs sing ;

Nourished by faith and kept cool in the beat of the angels wings.

Patience dreams, keeping open its arms, a candle always alight;

Marking the way, the path, the place, the day, the night

when patience job is done

and love has finally won.

patienceseek

