@BoxerGifts, Your Rape Culture Product Has To Go… (TW & CN)

Dear Boxer Gifts

Well  I have to hand it to you – I have signed many a petition in my life, but this is the first time I have created one.

The vile and disgusting item you are selling was bad enough – your response however, can best be described as a two-fingered salute to those who approached you via social media.

How many ways are there to tell you how bad this product is? How many times do we have to say that rape is not funny, that products like these promote rape culture, that rape and abuse destroys lives?

What is it going to take for companies like yours to stop creating these products?

Boxer Gifts, when someone asks what rape culture is, we can point to your product as an example. Is that the sort of reputation you want?

Actually, to be fair, I don’t give a crap about your reputation.  I only really care that you are treating rape and abuse victims like shit with this product and your crappy response.

Do the right thing and withdraw it from sale.

Kind Regards

Ali Wilkin

For those of you who have stopped by and read this – a link to the petition is here – please consider signing and sharing it.

UPDATE: Since posting this, Boxer Gifts have removed all comments relating to this from their facebook page and if you see my comments area below, you will see someone has arrived making various disparaging comments. I suspect that this person is a Boxer Gifts employee (because of the email address they provided when submitting the comments. Also they avoided the question when I raised it). Whether or not their boss is aware of this is anyone’s guess – if they are then it’s a really bad way to deal with public concerns. And if they aren’t then they are a company who have a lot of issues…

15 thoughts on “@BoxerGifts, Your Rape Culture Product Has To Go… (TW & CN)

  1. You give feminists a bad name. We’re not all sense of humourless frumps. I think this is funny. Dont give in to these so call feminists!

    Like

      • your opinion is right above all else. You give the impression that your saving the world with this? I think not. Try putting your energies into something that means something.

        Like

      • I tell you what Dawn, you go and tell your boss to come and deal with this in a grown up manner, and discuss with me directly. Y’know, instead of sending you along to try and belittle me.

        Rape culture is real, it’s not a joke, it’s not funny and this isn’t going away. In fact I’m sure that twitter would love to hear about how your company is handling this.

        Like

    • I just haven’t approved it for publishing, as is my right on my own blog. Like I said Dawn, go tell your boss to come and talk to me like a grown up, instead of sending you here to belittle and patronise me – something I do not have to allow, on my own blog.

      Like

  2. Zanna – our Dawn here is (possibly) from Boxer Gifts, and if she is this is a really interesting way for the company to deal with this situation… but we shall see.. so far I’ve had no denials of that suggestion…

    Like

Comments are closed.